Government Officials

About the Town

The Town of Port Royal has a Council/Manager form of government (also referred to as the Town Manager Plan). 

The Mayor is the head of the Town Council and conducts the Town Council Meetings 

Four at large Council Members serve four (4) year staggered Terms

The day to day administration of the government is under the control of a professional manager, the Town Manager

Joe DeVito, Mayor

Joe DeVito Jacket

Darryl Owens, Mayor Pro Tempore

Darryl Owens

Jerry Ashmore, Council Member

Jerry Ashmore

Mary Beth Heyward, Council Member

Mary Beth Gray-Heyward-

Kevin Phillips, Council Member

Kevin Phillips Smile

Van Willis, Town Manager

Van Willis


The mayor's obligations typically include chairing the council meetings and performing many of the symbolic duties of the town, such as greeting special guests and signing official documents on behalf of the town. 

Town Manager

The manager is in charge of the day-to-day operations of government, including the hiring and firing of administrative employees. Under this system, the professional manager reports directly to the council.

Administrative Employees

All other administrative employees report directly to the Town Manager. The Town of Port Royal is broken down into five departments. The departments are Operations, Fire, Police, Finance, and the Municipal Court.


  • 2nd Wednesday of every month at 6:30 PM- Town Hall, 700 Paris Avenue, Port Royal, SC


  • 1st Wednesday of every month at 6:30 PM - Town Hall, 700 Paris Avenue, Port Royal, SC

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes